Political Science Department

Political Science Department

View Syllabus

Political Science department believes in rigorous academic inputs and conversations inside and outside the classroom. The idea is to stimulate curiosity, sceptical thinking and extensive awareness about the world around us. VISION
To contribute to the development of aware citizens who are respectful of pluralism and constitutional values.


  • Junior and Senior College students have been taken for a visit to the Vidhan Sabha and Vidhan Parishad for the past ten years,
  • The department organises one day and one week-long field visits to different parts of Maharashtra to study local self-governing bodies in Maharashtra since 2013 One day visits: Week-long visits:
  • Three-day map reading sessions of the world, Maharashtra, and North-East India maps at the beginning of every academic year
  • Peace Day activities which cover more than 700 students organised on August 6th for the past 20 years
  • Human Rights Week has been organised every year for the past three years , featuring eminent activists like Magsaysay Award winner Bezwada Wilson, Harsh Mander, Noorjehan Safiya Naaz, Ashok Row Kavi, Arun Ferreira.
  • Regular lectures by visiting faculty and special guests
  • Yearbooks published by students
  • Charters of Students’ Rights and Responsibilities: Prepared, approved, and released
  • Political Science Association - an active, student-elected body
  • Students major with Political Science can opt for higher studies , prepare for civil service examinations
Prominent Alumni
  • Justice Kathawala - Bombay High Court (1982)
  • Asha Mhatre - General Manager, Times of India Foundation (1990)
  • Saurabh Railkar - Senior Lawyer, Bombay High Court (1992)
  • Shahid Khan - Director, Training in HR (1991)
  • Wasim Basir - In charge of markets for Coke - West Asia and North Africa (1994)
  • Deepak Netram - Vice President, Media Planning, Lodestar, part of FCB Ulka (1995)
  • Ben Longkumer - Superintendent of Police (1997)
  • Immlimeren Jamir - Additional Commissioner, Eastern Region (2003)
  • Stephen Guite - Deputy Manager (LPG-S) IOC (2004)
  • Dr. Priyadarshini Singh - Research Fellow, Center for Policy Research (2004)



In Charge Head of Department

Teaching Career : NOV 2021
Ms.Aarati Manerikar has been a resource person for the workshop conducted at Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy, Banaras Hindu University, has been a member of syllabus revision committee of the University of Mumbai for TYBA. Research Interest: Political Theory and International Relations.
Short Biography: Pursuing PH.D form Pune University on India’s Foreign Policy on Indo Pacific Region.

Assistant Professor

Ms. Poornima Kadam

Teaching Career :   August 2021
Qualifications: M.A.(Hons) POLITICAL SCIENCE.
Research Interest: Student activities, extension programs and nature conservation. Academic interests - Maharashtra Politics, Film and Politics and Local Self Government.
Short Biography: Active participation in co curricular and extra curricular activities in college part of the pioneering group which started Youth Parliament and MUN in Wilson College along with Prof Sheela Acharya and Prof. Shalini Rodrigues. Help set up networking system and logistics for flood relief across India.

Assistant Professor